Tags

, , , , ,

I expect that, when I’m home visiting, The Mom will ask for my help with some kind of computer-related issue. Which I always find slightly amusing because I am not a techy person. I mean, I can keep my systems functioning, but beyond that I don’t know much more than your average bear.

This summer, The Mom announced that she’d like to make a book in iPhoto. For those of you unfamiliar with this, it’s pretty great. You just take some of the pictures from your photo library, pick a layout design, and pop them in. You can add some text if you like, or titles, but the way the software works makes it pretty easy.

Note I say, pretty easy.

I think one of the big differences between the way The Mom uses her computer and the way people like Crazy D, L’il Sis and I do is that we’ll just keep pressing buttons until what we want to happen eventually does. The Mom however worries she might break something. We keep reminding her that we got her an Apple for this very reason – they’re pretty hard to break. Like, she’d have to put a lot more effort and energy into it than she’s expecting.

Anyhow, she approached me rather sheepishly one afternoon. And I know immediately when she asks me something not first thing in the morning, she knows it’s a big ask.

“So, maybe at some point you might be able to help me make a photo book?” She made this face like a little kid who wants an ice cream before dinner, but knows the adult in charge isn’t going to like the suggestion.

I shrugged. “Alright.”

She was taken aback, but knew not to look a gift horse in the mouth. I finished my lunch and we went upstairs to her nook and sat down in front of the computer. I opened the software and showed her around.

“Right, see here? You pick the style you want.” I flicked through about ten options, as The Mom squinted at the screen.

“Your eyes alright? You need them checked?” I asked.

“I’m fine!” The Mom replied.

“Then you just take a picture, drag it in here, and done.”

She looked sceptical. “That’s it?”

I nodded.

“Huh, seems easy enough.”

“It is.”

I left her to it. Over the course of a week, we had brief discussions about whatever problems she encountered, until one night she announced that she was finished.

“Okay, great. Get your Apple ID and we’ll hit print,” I said.

Looking extremely pleased with herself, and no doubt feeling quite chuffed, The Mom got her ID from her sketchy bunch of passwords and we carried on.

We got pretty far too, until we hit upon the most dreaded notification: Your software is out of date. You need to upgrade before printing.

But we couldn’t just update iPhoto. We had to update the entire OS. I’d heard about people losing some data when upgrading to El Capitain, but nevertheless we forged ahead. As I remember it – and I’ve blocked most of it out now – it took something like the entire morning to get the entire OS updated. It seems that The Mom always ignored the update software option that pops up now and again.

All morning we updated. The Mom hovering nervously around, waiting for me to explode. But for some reasons I was able to keep my calm. We’d run into a problem, I’d Google it, scroll the message boards for advice, we’d try something, maybe it worked, maybe it didn’t, and so on and so forth, until magically, sometime after lunch, we had achieved full OS update.

I’ve never given birth, but I tell you, looking at the gleaming new OS, I get what people feel like holding their brand new baby. I was triumphant to say the least.

The Mom more so, after we managed to order the photo book. Her pride increased significantly when the book turned up a few days later.

At this rate, I suspect we may all be getting iPhoto books for Christmas.

