Tags

, , ,

Oh dear. Yes, sometimes The Mom doesn’t know when she needs to consider other people’s perspectives or points of view. I can see her point that she grew up in a different era, however that’s no excuse.

It doesn’t excuse Trump and thus it does not excuse her.

What’s sort of interesting these days, as far as Trump goes, and I use the term interesting loosely, with a whiff of disturbing to it. He’s more than a car crash – it reminds me of that film Wag The Dog, where Robert deNiro hires Dustin Hoffman to produce a war. I feel as though Trump is playing a part and I’m really quite looking forward to the day when he lets the rest of us in on it.

Nevermind, what was I saying. Yes, Trump, as seen from the UK and Europe is even stranger. I suppose in some ways it’s like how Eurovision is seen in North America – though Eurovision tends to not end in violence or a madman running the country. It’s just completely incomprehensible, culturally, emotionally, existentially. There is no reason you could think of for it to be okay. The number one reason, I’d reckon, is  Trump’s his lack of self-awareness, or at least his megalomaniac desire to be electable and  make many people vote for him, and that contrasts generally with politicians over here– ours are serious. Every now and again one of them will try to be fun – I’m thinking of that photo last summer when David Cameron and his lovely wife were boogie boarding. They were trying to appeal to, I suppose, the common folk. It backfired in a way so spectacular it was almost unbelievable (turns out they were surfing near a spout or something that spits raw sewage into the sea, which used to maybe not do that but then austerity, cuts, etc. I may be mis-remembering that last part, never mind, you take my point).

Anyhow, this is what I mean about politicians being serious over here. The idea that one of them could fashion themselves after a Big Brother contestant isn’t just abhorrent, it’s inconceivable.

What’s more, is that I’d reckon 99% of what comes out of his mouth would be deemed a gaffe of epic proportions over here, and the broadsheets would’ve had a field day, crucifying him to the point where he daren’t show his face in public. There was a TV programme over here called In The Thick Of It, and it was a political satire where Peter Capaldi played a character (quite possibly the best on TV ever) called Malcolm Tucker, who was sort of in charge of making sure the government fools didn’t fuck up. They said a wrong word and they’d be in for a good five minutes of extremely creative swearing (seriously, they had a swearing consultant). And that would just be for saying something that, were it come come out of Trump’s mouth, would be considered quite sane and reasonable.

What I don’t understand isn’t so much that Trump doesn’t self-censor but that he appears rather shamelessly to have no sense of shame. And I think you’d want your politicians to have that. I think you’d want your humans to have that. I don’t mean shame in a closeted sort of nobody will like me kind of way, but rather in the sense of knowing right from wrong. And being ashamed of doing the wrong thing.

Regardless of political affiliation, I would have thought that electing someone so divisive, and so loudly uncaring about the vast majority of people, someone who thinks it’s not only acceptable, but appropriate to bully people loudly and in public, or even considering electing him would have kick-started a massive and growing movement of collective shame. The kind of shame you have if you see someone being beaten up and don’t do something. Which is an apt analogy I think because, as near as I can tell, America is being beaten up right now. And we need to do something.

